NHS DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY ANNUAL REVIEW 2015/16 SELF ASSESSMENT

Save this PDF as:
 WORD  PNG  TXT  JPG

Size: px
Start display at page:

Download "NHS DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY ANNUAL REVIEW 2015/16 SELF ASSESSMENT"

Transcription

1 NHS DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY ANNUAL REVIEW 2015/16 SELF ASSESSMENT

2 Chapter 1 Introduction This self assessment sets out the performance of NHS Dumfries and Galloway for the year April 2015 to March Included with this self assessment is an At a Glance outcomes and performance table that shows how the Board has performed against key targets / 2016 has been another busy and successful year with a number of significant new developments including:- Work on the new District General Hospital progressing on time, aiming to hand over the building to NHS Dumfries and Galloway in autumn The Board working through the shadow integration year in preparation of the new Dumfries and Galloway Health and Social Care Partnership, overseen by an Integration Joint Board, going live on 1 st April 2016Dumfries and Galloway Integration Joint Board was established as a body corporate by order of the Scottish Ministers on 3 October 2015 as part of the establishment of the framework for the integration of health and social care in Scotland under the Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Scotland) Act The IJB has responsibility for providing adult social care and defined health care services for the residents of Dumfries and Galloway During 2015/16 the was Strategic Plan developed for approval by the Integration Joint Board. All Dumfries and Galloway health services have been delegated to the Integration Joint Board Since 2014/15 the NHS Board has seen the appointment of seven new Non- Executive Board Members, following the withdrawal of the elective Board Members within NHS Dumfries and Galloway. Continuous development has been undertaken amongst the Board members through a variety of methods, to increase their knowledge and understanding of the services delivered by the NHS Board. This development had also supported NHS Non-Executive Board Members to better understand their role in providing assurance to the general public that we will strive to continue to deliver quality and safety improvements in 2016 / 2017 and to ensure that the NHS Board is able to deliver excellent care that is person-centred, effective, efficient and reliable. This self assessment seeks to set out, in detail, the progress that has been made across NHS Dumfries and Galloway through 2015/16, covering the nine national health and well-being outcomes set out by Scottish Government, which are noted below: People are able to look after and improve their own health and wellbeing and live in good health for longer Page 2 of 18

3 People, including those with disabilities or long term conditions, or who are frail, are able to live, as far as reasonably practicable, independently and at home or in a homely setting in their community People who use health and social care services have positive experiences of those services, and have their dignity respected Health and social care services are centred on helping to maintain or improve the quality of life of people who use those services Health and social care services contribute to reducing health inequalities People who provide unpaid care are supported to look after their own health and wellbeing, including to reduce any negative impact of their caring role on their own health and well-being People using health and social care services are safe from harm People who work in health and social care services feel engaged with the work they do and are supported to continuously improve the information, support, care and treatment they provide Resources are used effectively and efficiently in the provision of health and social care services All of the achievements and improvements of the last year are a result of the dedication and commitment of everyone working across our healthcare system and the focus on continuous improvement that has become the way we work. Page 3 of 18

4 Chapter 2 Actions from 2014 / 2015 Annual Review Following the Annual Review for 2015 / 2016, the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing wrote to the Chairman of the Board inviting it to:- 1 Keep the Health Directorates informed of progress with its significant local health improvement activity; 2 Continue to review, update and maintain robust arrangements for controlling Healthcare Associated Infection; 3 Continue to deliver on its key responsibilities in terms of clinical governance, risk management, quality of care and patient safety, including a prompt and effective response to the findings of HEI and Older People in Acute Care inspections; 4 Keep the Health Directorates informed on progress towards achieving all access targets; 5 Continue to work with planning partners on the critical health and social care agenda; 6 Continue to achieve financial in-year and recurring financial balance; 7 Keep the Health Directorates informed of progress with redesigning local services in line with the Board s clinical strategy. Work continues on all of the areas above and NHS Board have been kept informed of progress. Page 4 of 18

5 Chapter 3 Person Centred Scottish Government has set out nine national health and well-being outcomes, which have been incorporated within all services delivered through health. Noted below are those key outcomes, which we believe to be key to the delivery of delivering person centred care: People are able to look after and improve their own health and well-being and live in good health for longer; People, including those with disabilities or long-term conditions, or who are frail, are able to live, as far as reasonably practicable, independently and at home or in a homely setting in their community; People who use health and social care services have positive experiences of those services, and have their dignity respected. As part of the establishment of the Dumfries and Galloway Health and Social Care Partnership, NHS Dumfries and Galloway have accepted the terms of the Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan and the impact this will have on the services we deliver moving forward. The Health and Social Care Strategic Plan lays out how we currently provide health and social care and support, highlights potential areas of improvement and describes our key areas of focus over the next three years. Below is a summary of key areas of focus in relation to person-centeredness where resources and activity was directed toward throughout 2015/16 Enabling people to have more choice and control There is a need to enable people to have more choice and control of their lives, drawing on support from their families, friends and communities to make the most of their potential and abilities. New approaches must be much most person-centres, with the person being in control of their own care and support and being an equal partner in making decisions about their care. Supporting Carers Providing support to Carers is an increasing local and national priority. They are the largest group of care providers in Scotland, providing more care that the NHS and Council combined. NHS Dumfries and Galloway are committed to creating a supportive working environment for Carers within the Dumfries and Galloway Partnership Page 5 of 18

6 Developing and strengthening communities There is evidence that using low level community and social support can greatly increase a person s potential to better manage their health, live well in their homes and communities for longer, and reduce loneliness. Identifying and making best use of the assets and resources that exist at both an individual and community level is, therefore, a valuable starting point to do this. The value of volunteers to communities is well documented, as are the benefits of volunteering to the individual. There is evidence that volunteering can improve well-being, increase confidence and strengthen someone s links with their community. This way of working encourages real partnerships, which mean listening to what people say they need and what would make a difference. It also means involving people in decision-making, so that they can be in control rather than passively receiving services. To demonstrate that NHS Dumfries and Galloway are providing a person-centred service, highlighted below are three of the key achievements made in 2015/16: Carers Support Plans are now available for those Carers who want them. These are plans developed with the Carer to help ensure that the needs of the Carer, as an individual in their own right, are met NHS Dumfries and Galloway achieved the Engaged level of the Carer Positive award ensuring flexibility and support for staff who work in the organisation who have Caring responsibilities. Building Healthy Communities (BHC) is a community development programme across Dumfries and Galloway, which supports and encourages individual and community resilience. A key aspect of the agenda is community engagement and working closely with local people to develop their understanding and skills around improving and maintaining good health. A recent external evaluation has reported that the large majority of users of BHC reported spending more time with people, gaining new skills and having better health and more self confidence. A new volunteer co-ordinator for the new hospital has been recruited. In contrast to the key achievements noted above, we must consider how the services will develop going forward. Below are the key challenges NHS Dumfries and Galloway face in 2016/17: Working together with Carers, we need to identify with them, how we can further improve support to Carers; Page 6 of 18

7 We need to consider how we can better identify and utilise community assets; We seek to increase the number of volunteers we have in the region; BHC will move from Public Health into the localities as part of the integration of Health and Social Care to work directly with communities. There is a need to maximise effective practice to support community resilience in an equitable way across the region. Individual health behaviours are also important in contributing to resilience and demands on services. We plan, over , to review current services aimed at supporting health behaviour change to make these more generic and personcentred. Page 7 of 18

8 Chapter 4 Safe Below are the national outcomes, key to delivering care that is safe: Health and social care services are centred on helping to maintain or improve the quality of life of people who use those services; People using health and social care services are safe from harm. Below is a summary of key areas of focus in relation to safety where resources and activity was directed toward throughout 2015/16 Maintaining safe, high quality care and protecting vulnerable adults This is a key priority for the health board and more specifically going forward for the Integration Joint Board. National policy to protect people has moved forward significantly over the last 10 to 20 years with new laws for adults with incapacity, mental health care and treatment and, most recently, adult support and protection. Under the Adult Support and Protection (Scotland) Act 2007, public sectors have a duty to report concerns relating to adults at risk and the council must take action to find out about and, where necessary, intervene to make sure vulnerable adults are protected. Key partners have been made fully aware of their responsibilities in the protection of vulnerable adults. There are a number of programmes aiming to reduce the risk of harm to people. The Scottish Patient Safety Programme (SPSP), launched in 2008 is one of these. While at first the programme was focused on acute (hospital bases) care, it now encompasses acute adult care, maternity and children s care, mental health care and primary care. To demonstrate that NHS Dumfries and Galloway are providing a safe service, highlighted below are three of the key achievements made in 2015/16: Scottish Patient Safety Programme maintaining all the streams of the programme whilst building the will within teams to develop further. Risk development of an Executive Risk group, which has overseen the corporate risk register update and supported Directorates to ensure their risk registers are current. Page 8 of 18

9 Older People working with Alzheimer Scotland, Dumfries and Galloway Council and other 3 rd sector organisation as a key partner in the Dementia Friendly Communities Initiative funded over 3 years through a Life Changes Trust grant award. In contrast to the key achievements noted above, we must consider how the services will develop going forward. Below are the key challenges NHS Dumfries and Galloway face in 2016/17: Scottish Patient Safety Programme ensuring we can support the move from testing change to full implementation across all appropriate areas within a reasonable timeframe. Risk Supporting the integration of health and social care risk strategy. Older People drawing together, clarifying for staff and ensuring appropriate action on the various standards which apply to the care of older people in and out of hospital e.g. care of older people in hospital, dementia, food fluid and nutritional care standards and the 9 national outcomes. Page 9 of 18

10 Chapter 5 Effective Below are the national outcomes, key to delivering care that is effective: Health and social care services contribute to reducing health inequalities; People who provide unpaid care are supported to look after their own health and well-being, including to reduce any negative impact of their caring role on their own health and well-being; People who work in health and social care services feel engaged with the work they do and are supported to continuously improve the information, support, care and treatment they provide; Resources are used effectively and efficiently in the provision of health and social care services. Below is a summary of key areas of focus in relation to safety where resources and activity was directed toward throughout 2015/16 Making the most of well-being Making the most of and maintaining health and well-being is always better than treating illness. Where possible the aim is to prevent ill health or, where health or social care needs are identified, to make sure there are appropriate levels of planning and support to prevent further deterioration. A proactive approach is required to achieve this aim, including o Action from an early age and across the whole of a person s life; o An awareness of potential impacts of physical, spiritual, psychological and social influences on a person s well-being; o Identification of issues that can impact negatively on a person s overall well-being, such as loneliness, isolation and financial poverty. Shifting the focus from institutional care to home and community based care New models of care and support should reflect and promote the shift towards greater choice and control for people and make a positive difference to their outcomes. As a result, it is crucial that people who use services, and their Carers and families are involved in designing them, specifically through the development of clinical and care pathways. Page 10 of 18

11 Reducing health inequalities Health inequalities are unjust differences in health outcomes experienced by people. They can arise from circumstances in which people live, the long term conditions that they have and the opportunities they have for health and social well-being. People from minority communities or with protected characteristics may experience health inequalities, for example in accessing care and support. Reducing health inequalities involves action on the broader social issues that can affect a person s health, including education, housing, loneliness and isolation, employment and income. Partnership working across the Local Authority, Health, the Third Sector, the Independent Sector and local communities is vital to addressing the inequalities that lead to health inequalities. Well-being is not achieved by focusing only on improving the health of individuals. It is important that services are designed and delivered in a way that enables those most in need to have easy access. It is this approach, at both a strategic and locality level, which will lead to healthier adults able to live fulfilling and independent lives. As well as focusing specifically on health and social care for adults, programmes of work are being developed to improve the health and well-being of children and young people to make sure they grow into healthy adults. Making the best use of technology Using technology to help achieve our aims is a basic building block to delivering the 20:20 vision for Scotland. In the future, the vast majority of care and support will be provided in community settings. Developing and delivering information and communication technologies and a programme of Technology Enabled Care is critical to achieving seamless and sustainable care and support across the entire health and social care spectrum. To demonstrate that NHS Dumfries and Galloway are providing an effective care through health services, highlighted below are three of the key achievements made in 2015/16: As part of the Integration planning process all of our four localities now have locality plans , these were developed in consultation with key stakeholders and in particular the communities that form our localities. Specific initiatives that have developed from these plans involving re-ablement, pharmacy, intermediate care and technology enabled care are all directed at keeping people in their own homes for longer or being able to safely discharge people from hospitals to their communities more timeously. Page 11 of 18

12 Reducing inequalities is a priority for both the NHS and the Integrated Joint Board. For NHS Dumfries and Galloway it is included in the corporate risk register. In 2015/16 the Public Health directorate led on the development of an Inequalities Framework and Toolkit. The Inequalities Framework is aimed at supporting all those involved in developing policies, guidelines, interventions, programmes and services by providing information and tools necessary to address inequalities In 2015/16 work has developed through the Health and Social Care Integration agenda which seeks to strengthen the connection between housing and health and social care. Partnerships and structures have been established to take forward work linking housing and health. To inform future housing and health related work and ensure local activity is based on best evidence, local intelligence arrangements have been made to undertake a Housing and Health Needs Assessment (HHNA). The HHNA will build upon the Housing and Health Needs Assessment Scoping Study which was completed in early 2016 and link to the recently completed Dumfries and Galloway Housing Needs and Demand Assessment. Links have been made with other NHS Boards and ScotPHN in order to share information and knowledge. Reducing inequalities is a priority for both the NHS and the Integrated Joint Board We have secured funding through the Scottish Government Technology Enabled Care Programme that will support the use of technology in the delivery of care and support In contrast to the key achievements noted above, we must consider how the services will develop going forward. Below are the key challenges NHS Dumfries and Galloway face in 2016/17: We need to ensure that services are designed and delivered in a way that enables those most in need to have easy access We must ensure that people are able to realise the benefits that technology enabled care can provide by developing a programme of work in this area We will continue to work to ensure that more people are effectively supported through preventative and early intervention approaches shifting focus away from a crisis management approach Page 12 of 18

13 Chapter 6 Workforce The Staff Governance Standard provides a statutory framework for the continuous improvement of policies and practices in relation to staff management. The five Staff Governance Standards are; Well informed Appropriately trained Involved in decisions which affect them Treated fairly and consistently Provided with an improved and safe working environment The staff governance standards support delivery of the Scottish Government s 2020 Workforce Vision and action plan, within which specific actions were defined for Board delivery during 2015/16 in relation to the following 5 workforce themes; Healthy organisational culture Sustainable workforce Capable workforce Integrated workforce Effective leadership and management Our continuous improvement goals for 2015/16 in relation to the staff governance standards and the 2020 vision workforce themes were set out in our Staff Governance Action Plan, which was approved and monitored by the Staff Governance Committee. As in previous years, we have benefited from very positive partnership working relations with our representative Trades Unions. By working together through our Area Partnership Forum structure we have led a comprehensive programme of work to continuously improve the engagement of our staff, and meet the Staff Governance Standards. In 2015 we undertook another national staff survey, and the results of this, and the previous survey in 2014 have given the Partnership Forum focus on areas for improvement to enhance our staff s overall experience of working in NHS D&G. Organisational culture Person Centred As part of our programme of preparation for integration, during this shadow year we worked with our partners to undertake a very significant diagnostic exercise to understand better our organisational culture, and that of each of our partners. Through this exercise we have identified both our current culture profile - how we do things round here and also the ideal culture profile that will best serve to deliver our patients and clients needs across the integrated Health and Social Care system. Page 13 of 18

14 During 2014 the Board confirmed its CORE values as; Compassionate Open Respectful Excellent The diagnostic results have confirmed that these values remain relevant and appropriate across the health workforce, and thus have, and will continue to be an anchor for our NHS culture development programme going forward over the next 3 years. During 2015/16 we recognised the need for staff to be well informed and involved in decisions, given the level of transformational change being undertaken both in relation to the new build hospital, clinical redesign and health and social care integration. Working with staff side colleagues we have increased the frequency, volume and impact of staff focused communications at both local and corporate levels over the past year, to seek to ensure that all staff have the information that they need about the changes and how they will affect them. We recognise that communications is a challenging and complex area of staff engagement, and whilst we have made progress this year, we are not complacent and are continuing to work on this as part of our 2016/17 Staff Governance Action Plan. Sustainable workforce Safe and effective The Board experienced significant challenges in recruiting to a number of specialties and vacancies within the medical workforce during 2015/16, and this has been recognised as one of the key risks for our organisation in the coming years. Whilst it is acknowledged that many of the issues affecting the medical workforce are national issues relating to the supply of trained and junior doctors across the UK and internationally, our medical director, working with our Director of Medical Education have maintained a strong focus on our local needs in 2015/16, and have sought to address local issues that have affected our competitiveness and attractiveness as an employer relative to other Boards in Scotland. This focused and person centred approach, working with individual posts and applicants, was successful and resulted in a number of new appointments over the year. The challenge remains ongoing however, as the turnover due to retirement and transfers to other Boards remains, along with an increasing pressure on General Practice medical provision within primary care. During 2015/16 we focused our workforce planning activity on the requirements for our new build hospital, due to open in 2017, and the workforce planning needs of the collective heath and social care workforce. Detailed workforce planning continues for the new build, and is integrated with the service and financial planning also being undertaken. Page 14 of 18

15 We established a workforce transition partnership group to lead and manage the policies, practices and processes required for the transition to the new hospital, and this group is contributing significantly to the planning for the new hospital, to ensure that staff are well informed and involved in decisions which affect them. Through the work of our Organisation Development (OD) Integration Transition group we developed our first integrated workforce plan for the Integrated Joint Board, working with partners from the Council, Third and Independent sectors and staff side. Whilst at an early stage of development, our approach involving all of our partners in its development and ambition was recognised as amongst the most ambitious in Scotland, and was acknowledged accordingly. The OD transition group have also led on a wide range of training and OD interventions across the localities, to support staff, managers and leaders to develop the skills and knowledge they require to work within integrated teams. We have continued to invest in a wide range of training and development programmes for staff at all levels on the organisation this year, to support staff to develop both technical, professional, front line management and leaderships skills and abilities they require to undertake their current roles, and develop for future roles within the organisation. Examples of programmes undertaken through the year include the second cohort of our ASPIRE to lead front line nurse development programme, and dementia champions training and carer awareness training. We have also invested in development sessions for our Board and its members over the past 12 months to enable them to undertake their collective strategic leadership role more effectively. Our sickness absence levels, whilst running slightly below the national average of 5.16%, have exceeded the NHS Scotland 4% target, running at 5.08% for the year average. We recognise that we must refocus our efforts during 2016/17 on this important area of operational sustainability, and our Staff Governance Committee are committed to scrutinising our performance in order to identify and support opportunities for improvement. To demonstrate that NHS Dumfries and Galloway has an engaged and motivated workforce that deliver high quality services to the region we have noted below three of the key achievements that were made within 2015/16: Engaged our staff with partners to establish our base line for our Culture development programme Increased the scope, frequency and impact of our staff communications in support of the key transformation programmes we are undertaking over the next 3 years. Designed and developed our workforce transition plan and processes through effective partnership working Page 15 of 18

16 In contrast to the key achievements noted above, we must consider how the services will develop going forward and highlight below the key challenges NHS Dumfries and Galloway will face in 2016/17: Recruiting and retaining sufficient skilled and experienced doctors and other scarce resources to fulfil our service requirements Reducing sickness absence levels in line with Scottish Government targets Increasing staff engagement and consequent patient experience through our culture development programme over the next 3 years Page 16 of 18

17 Chapter 7 Finance NHS Dumfries and Galloway continued its recent successful trend of delivering a secure financial position by breaking even once again in 2015/16 and achieving all its financial targets. The Board has continued to make good progress on its major infrastructure projects. These included the completion of a new women and children s services hub at the Crichton campus and the ongoing development of the region s new acute hospital on the outskirts of Dumfries. The Scottish Government Health and Social Care Directorates set three financial targets at Health Board level on an annual basis. These limits are: Revenue Resource Limit a resource budget for ongoing operations; Capital Resource Limit a resource budget for net capital investment; and Cash requirement a financing requirement to fund the cash consequences of the ongoing operations and net capital investment. The following table highlights the Boards delivery against these targets 2015/16 Target Delivery Variance Actual (Over) / Outturn Under 000 s 000 s 000 s Limit as set by SGHSCD Revenue Resource Limit Core 299, , Non-Core 7,098 7,098 0 Total 306, , Capital Resource Limit Core 60,075 60, Non-Core Total 60,075 60, Cash Requirement 317, ,768 0 To demonstrate that NHS Dumfries and Galloway is performing well against all targets and within budget we have highlighted below three of the key achievements that were made within 2015/16: Delivery of a break-even financial position once again. On-going delivery of significant efficiency savings (3% in ) Page 17 of 18

18 Investment in appropriate infrastructure in ensuring a successful start to the building of the new hospital project, implementing the clinical change programme and finalising the costs of the new staffing models in time for the opening of the new hospital. In contrast to the key achievements noted above, we must consider how the services will develop going forward and highlight below the key challenges NHS Dumfries and Galloway will face in 2016/17: Impact of workforce challenges and the ability to recruit and retain medical staff in particular, with increasing levels of reliance on temporary staff. Innovative solutions have been identified and agreed in trying to ensure key staff groups are attracted to securing employment within the Region. This continues to remain a key risk for the Health Board. The significantly increased level of challenge in the delivery of on-going efficiency savings, with the level required for at unprecedented levels (5%). Whilst NHS Dumfries and Galloway have proven to have a good track record on achieving CRES, the challenge of continuing to identify recurring savings at this level remains high. Implementation of infrastructure to support the Integrated Joint Board and report on key issues as one corporate body. Page 18 of 18

19 NHS Dumfries & Galloway: At a Glance Outcome Indicators Outcome Indicator D&G Performance Scotland Data Date 1 Direction Quality Indicators Overall Healthcare Experience 85% 84% 2016 Improving Staff Attendance 94.9% 95.0% 2015 / 16 No change Staff reporting positive experience KSF review, PDP or equivalent Emergency Admissions all ages (Rate per 100,000 population) Emergency Bed Days all ages (Rate per 100,000 population) Hospital Standardised Mortality Ratios DGRI Premature mortality all causes (Rate per 100,000 population) 45% 43% 2014 No change 10,468 10, / 15 Declining 88,037 73, / 15 Declining 0.88% 0.97% Jan Mar 2016 Improving 393.7% 437.5% 2013 No change Early Years Healthy Birth weight 91.4% 90.0% 2014 / 15 Improving Health Outcomes Life Expectancy at Birth (yrs) Males 78.0% 77.1% No change Life Expectancy at Birth (yrs) Females 81.5% 81.1% No change Alcohol-Related Hospital Admissions (Rate per 100,000 population) People with Complex Care Needs Cared for at Home Cancer waiting times (62 days) 95.7% 90.2% Cancer waiting times (31 days) 100% 94.9% 408% 671% 2014 / 15 Improving 65.9% 61.8% 2014 No change Jan - Mar 2016 Jan - Mar 2016 Declining Improving New outpatients see within 12 weeks 93.1% 85.6% Jun-16 Improving 18 Weeks Referral to Treatment 90.2% 87.0% Jun-16 Declining Treatment Time Guarantee (% seen) 83.9% 91.2% Apr - Jun 2016 Declining 1 Annual data unless stated

20 NHS Dumfries & Galloway: HEAT Target Performance Target Health Improvement Actual Latest Performance Planned Data Date Status Smoking Cessation (40% most deprived SIMD) / 15 Amber Detect Cancer Early 26.1% 24% 2014 /15 Green Antenatal Access 84.5% 83.5% 2015 / 16 Green Efficiency and Governance Improvements Financial Performance ( 000s) Mar-16 Green Reduce CO 2 emissions (kg CO 2 /m 2 ) Mar-16 Green Reduce Energy Consumption (kwh/m 2 ) Mar-16 Green Access to Service Faster access to Mental Health Services (CAMHS) Faster access to Psychological Therapies 97.7% 90% Jun-16 Green 73.4% 90.0% Jun-16 Red IVF waiting times 100% 100% Jun-16 Green 4 Hour Accident and Emergency Waiting Times 95.1% 95% Aug-16 Green Treatment Appropriate to Individuals MRSA/MSSA Bacteraemias Mar-15 Green C.Difficile infections ages Mar-15 Red Delayed Discharge (14 days) Jun-16 Red Emergency Bed Days for 75+ per 1,000 population ,274 Mar-16 Amber

SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH & SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATED JOINT BOARD UPDATE ON THE DRAFT COMMISSIONING & IMPLEMENTATION PLAN

SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH & SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATED JOINT BOARD UPDATE ON THE DRAFT COMMISSIONING & IMPLEMENTATION PLAN Appendix-2016-59 Borders NHS Board SCOTTISH BORDERS HEALTH & SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATED JOINT BOARD UPDATE ON THE DRAFT COMMISSIONING & IMPLEMENTATION PLAN Aim To bring to the Board s attention the Scottish

More information

EMPLOYEE HEALTH AND WELLBEING STRATEGY

EMPLOYEE HEALTH AND WELLBEING STRATEGY EMPLOYEE HEALTH AND WELLBEING STRATEGY 2015-2018 Our community, we care, you matter... Document prepared by: Head of HR Services Version Number: Review Date: September 2018 Employee Health and Wellbeing

More information

1. This letter summarises the mairi points discussed and actions arising from the Annual Review and associated meetings in Glasgow on 20 August.

1. This letter summarises the mairi points discussed and actions arising from the Annual Review and associated meetings in Glasgow on 20 August. Cabinet Secretary for Health, Wellbeing and Sport ShonaRobisonMSP T: 0300 244 4000 E:scottish.ministers@gov.scot Andrew Robertson OBE Chairman NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde JB Russell House Gartnavel Royal

More information

Item No. 9. Meeting Date Wednesday 6 th December Glasgow City Integration Joint Board Finance and Audit Committee

Item No. 9. Meeting Date Wednesday 6 th December Glasgow City Integration Joint Board Finance and Audit Committee Item No. 9 Meeting Date Wednesday 6 th December 2017 Glasgow City Integration Joint Board Finance and Audit Committee Report By: Contact: Sharon Wearing, Chief Officer, Finance and Resources Allison Eccles,

More information

2017/18 Quarter 3. Performance Update

2017/18 Quarter 3. Performance Update Integration Joint Board 31 st May 2018 This Report relates to Item 11 on the Agenda 2017/18 Quarter 3 Integration Joint Board Performance Update (Paper presented by Ananda Allan) For Noting Approved for

More information

Integrated Performance Report Executive Summary (for NHS Fife Board Meeting) Produced in February 2018

Integrated Performance Report Executive Summary (for NHS Fife Board Meeting) Produced in February 2018 6b Integrated Performance Report Executive Summary (for NHS Fife Board Meeting) Produced in February 2018 2 Contents Integrated Performance Report: Executive Summary 5 Clinical Governance: Chair and Committee

More information

Operational Plan Scorecard NHS Highland

Operational Plan Scorecard NHS Highland Operational Plan Scorecard NHS NHS Board 24 July Item 4.9 a Report by George McCaig, on behalf of Deborah Jones, Director of Strategic Commissioning, Planning and This report recommends that the Board

More information

Child Health 2020 A Strategic Framework for Children and Young People s Health

Child Health 2020 A Strategic Framework for Children and Young People s Health Child Health 2020 A Strategic Framework for Children and Young People s Health Consultation Paper Please Give Us Your Views Consultation: 10 September 2013 21 October 2013 Our Child Health 2020 Vision

More information

Annandale & Eskdale. Health & Social Care Integration: Joint Strategic Needs Assessment (JSNA)

Annandale & Eskdale. Health & Social Care Integration: Joint Strategic Needs Assessment (JSNA) Health & Social Care Integration: Joint Strategic Needs Assessment (JSNA) Annandale & Eskdale George Noakes Senior Health Intelligence Analyst Health Intelligence Unit, NHS D&G gnoakes@nhs.net What is

More information

Glasgow City CHP Item No. 5

Glasgow City CHP Item No. 5 EMBARGOED UNTIL DATE OF MEETING Glasgow City CHP Item No. 5 CHP Committee Meeting Date: Wednesday, 25 June 2014 Paper No 2014/023 Subject: CHP Development Plan 2014/15 Presented by: Recommendation(s) Summary/

More information

2. This year the LDP has three elements, which are underpinned by finance and workforce planning.

2. This year the LDP has three elements, which are underpinned by finance and workforce planning. Directorate for Health Performance and Delivery NHSScotland Chief Operating Officer John Connaghan T: 0131-244 3480 E: john.connaghan@scotland.gsi.gov.uk John Burns Chief Executive NHS Ayrshire and Arran

More information

CORPORATE PLAN 2014/ /16

CORPORATE PLAN 2014/ /16 CORPORATE PLAN 2014/15 2015/16 5 December 2013 Contents Page No 1. Introduction 1 2. About the Trust 1 3. Strategic Context 4 4. Our Core Values 6 5. Our Strategic Aims 8 1. Introduction This Corporate

More information

grampian clinical strategy

grampian clinical strategy healthfit caring listening improving consultation grampian clinical strategy 2016 to 2021 1 summary version NHS Grampian Clinical Strategy 2016 to 2021 Purpose and aims 5 Partnership working and the changing

More information

Commissioning Strategy Governing Body 4 th July 2013

Commissioning Strategy Governing Body 4 th July 2013 Commissioning Strategy 2013-2018 Governing Body 4 th July 2013 1 The Case for Change Context & Challenges The Vision A Case Study for Long-Term Conditions The Vision & Strategic Outcomes Transforming Local

More information

CLINICAL AND CARE GOVERNANCE STRATEGY

CLINICAL AND CARE GOVERNANCE STRATEGY CLINICAL AND CARE GOVERNANCE STRATEGY Clinical and Care Governance is the corporate responsibility for the quality of care Date: April 2016 2020 Next Formal Review: April 2020 Draft version: April 2016

More information

grampian clinical strategy

grampian clinical strategy healthfit caring listening improving grampian clinical strategy 2016 to 2021 1 summary version For full version of the Grampian Clinical Strategy, please go to www.nhsgrampian.org/clinicalstrategy Document

More information

SUBJECT: CMO 19 (2015) Health Promoting Health Service: Action in Secondary Care Settings

SUBJECT: CMO 19 (2015) Health Promoting Health Service: Action in Secondary Care Settings Meeting of Lanarkshire NHS Board: Wednesday 24 Jan 2017 Lanarkshire NHS Board Kirklands Fallside Road Bothwell G71 8BB Telephone: 01698 855500 www.nhslanarkshire.org.uk SUBJECT: CMO 19 (2015) Health Promoting

More information

NHSScotland Local Delivery Plan Guidance

NHSScotland Local Delivery Plan Guidance NHSScotland 2015-16 Local Delivery Plan Guidance 1 Contents Page Contacts 3 1. Local Delivery Plan 2015-16 4 2. Improvement Priorities 6 3. LDP Standards 10 4. Financial Planning 13 5. Workforce Planning

More information

NHS GRAMPIAN. Local Delivery Plan - Mental Health and Learning Disability Services

NHS GRAMPIAN. Local Delivery Plan - Mental Health and Learning Disability Services NHS GRAMPIAN Board Meeting 01.06.17 Open Session Item 8 Local Delivery Plan - Mental Health and Learning Disability Services 1. Actions Recommended The Board is asked to: Note the context regarding the

More information

Integration Scheme. Between. Glasgow City Council. and. NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

Integration Scheme. Between. Glasgow City Council. and. NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Integration Scheme Between Glasgow City Council and NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde December 2015 Page 1 of 60 1. Introduction 1.1 The Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Scotland) Act 2014 (the Act) requires

More information

Strategic Plan for Fife ( )

Strategic Plan for Fife ( ) www.fifehealthandsocialcare.org Strategic Plan for Fife (2016-2019) Summary Document Supporting the people of Fife together Foreword NHS Fife and Fife Council are working together in a new Integrated Health

More information

Q4 January - March 2017

Q4 January - March 2017 Q4 January - March 2017 1 Contents Document Features... 4 National Outcomes... 5 Dumfries & Galloway Priority Areas... 6 A11 Premature mortality rate... 9 A15 Proportion of the last 6 months of life spent

More information

Flourishing Communities, Healthier Lives - Glasgow City Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan for Health and Social Care

Flourishing Communities, Healthier Lives - Glasgow City Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan for Health and Social Care Flourishing Communities, Healthier Lives - Glasgow City Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan for Health and Social Care 2019 22 1 P a g e Intro from Chair and Vice Chair

More information

Flourishing Communities, Healthier Lives - Glasgow City Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan for Health and Social Care

Flourishing Communities, Healthier Lives - Glasgow City Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan for Health and Social Care Flourishing Communities, Healthier Lives - Glasgow City Integration Joint Board s Strategic Plan for Health and Social Care 2019 22 1 P a g e Intro from Chair and Vice Chair

More information

Services for older people in Falkirk

Services for older people in Falkirk Services for older people in Falkirk July 2015 Report of a joint inspection of adult health and social care services Services for older people in Falkirk July 2015 Report of a joint inspection of adult

More information

JOB DESCRIPTION. Head of Mental Health, Learning Disability and Addictions. Director, North Ayrshire Health & Social Care Partnership

JOB DESCRIPTION. Head of Mental Health, Learning Disability and Addictions. Director, North Ayrshire Health & Social Care Partnership JOB DESCRIPTION 1. JOB DETAILS Job Title: Responsible to: Responsible for:. Location: Head of Mental Health, Learning Disability and Addictions Director, North Ayrshire Health & Social Care Partnership

More information

POWYS thb ANNUAL PLAN

POWYS thb ANNUAL PLAN POWYS thb ANNUAL PLAN 2013-14 Aim Improvement Action Measure Lead Standards for IMPROVING HEALTH AND WELL-BEING OF COMMUNITIES 1. Improve the opportunities and life chances for children Increase uptake

More information

DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REPORT 2016/17

DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REPORT 2016/17 DUMFRIES AND GALLOWAY INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REPORT 2016/17 Contents Foreword/Executive Summary 4 Introduction 5 The 9 National Health and Wellbeing Indicators

More information

FORTH VALLEY CLINICAL AND CARE GOVERNANCE FRAMEWORK

FORTH VALLEY CLINICAL AND CARE GOVERNANCE FRAMEWORK HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE INTEGRATION: FORTH VALLEY CLINICAL AND CARE GOVERNANCE FRAMEWORK The Scottish Government, National Health and Wellbeing Outcomes: A framework for improving the planning and delivery

More information

Mental Health Services - Delayed Discharges: Update

Mental Health Services - Delayed Discharges: Update NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS Board Meeting Chief Officer, Glasgow City HSCP and Nurse Director October 20 Paper No: /56 Mental Health Services - Delayed Discharges: Update Recommendation:- The NHS Board

More information

NHS GRAMPIAN. Grampian Clinical Strategy - Planned Care

NHS GRAMPIAN. Grampian Clinical Strategy - Planned Care NHS GRAMPIAN Grampian Clinical Strategy - Planned Care Board Meeting 03/08/17 Open Session Item 8 1. Actions Recommended In October 2016 the Grampian NHS Board approved the Grampian Clinical Strategy which

More information

DRAFT. Rehabilitation and Enablement Services Redesign

DRAFT. Rehabilitation and Enablement Services Redesign DRAFT Rehabilitation and Enablement Services Redesign Services Vision Statement Inverclyde CHP is committed to deliver Adult rehabilitation services that are easily accessible, individually tailored to

More information

Corporate Plan 2017/2018

Corporate Plan 2017/2018 Corporate Plan 2017/2018 Our community, we care, you matter... 1. Foreword Welcome to NHS Orkney s 2017/2018 Corporate Plan. The Plan reaffirms our purpose as an organisation, our promise to the Orkney

More information

Annual Performance Report 2017/18

Annual Performance Report 2017/18 Integration Joint Board 26 th July 2018 This Report relates to Item 5 on the Agenda Annual Performance Report 2017/18 (Paper presented by Ananda Allan) For Approval Approved for Submission by Author List

More information

OUR Commitment TO CARE

OUR Commitment TO CARE OUR Commitment TO CARE Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professional Strategy 2018-2021 2 #alwaysgrowing FOREWORD I am delighted to introduce our strategy for nursing, midwifery and allied health professionals

More information

East Surrey Clinical Commissioning Group. 1. Prevention, Screening and Immunisation

East Surrey Clinical Commissioning Group. 1. Prevention, Screening and Immunisation East Surrey Clinical Commissioning Group Commissioning Strategy 1. Prevention, Screening and Immunisation October 2017 Page 1 of 13 Summary The NHS and the wider health and social care system are facing

More information

Update on Glasgow IJB Scheme of Establishment

Update on Glasgow IJB Scheme of Establishment NHS GREATER GLASGOW AND CLYDE NHS Board Meeting 15 th December 2015 Paper No 15/65 Director of Planning and Policy Recommendation Update on Glasgow IJB Scheme of Establishment The Board note the final

More information

Marie Curie Nursing Service - Care at Home Support Service Care at Home Marie Curie Hospice - Glasgow 133 Balornock Road Stobhill Hospital Grounds

Marie Curie Nursing Service - Care at Home Support Service Care at Home Marie Curie Hospice - Glasgow 133 Balornock Road Stobhill Hospital Grounds Marie Curie Nursing Service - Care at Home Support Service Care at Home Marie Curie Hospice - Glasgow 133 Balornock Road Stobhill Hospital Grounds Springburn Glasgow G21 3US Telephone: 0141 531 1355 Type

More information

EMBARGOED UNTIL DATE OF MEETING NHSGG&C CORPORATE PLAN The NHS Board is asked to approve the Corporate Plan for the period

EMBARGOED UNTIL DATE OF MEETING NHSGG&C CORPORATE PLAN The NHS Board is asked to approve the Corporate Plan for the period EMBARGOED UNTIL DATE OF MEETING Greater Glasgow & Clyde Health Board Board Meeting Tuesday 26 June 2012 Board Paper No. 12/26 Director of Corporate Planning and Policy NHSGG&C CORPORATE PLAN 2013-16 Recommendation:

More information

Balanced Scorecard Performance Report 2017/18 Western Isles Health and Social Care Integration Partnership. v.1. December 2017

Balanced Scorecard Performance Report 2017/18 Western Isles Health and Social Care Integration Partnership. v.1. December 2017 IJB 19.12.17 ITEM: 7.1 PURPOSE: For Assurance Balanced Scorecard Performance Report 2017/18 Western Isles Health and Social Care Integration Partnership v.1 December 2017 Public Health Intelligence & Information

More information

Dear Colleague. From the Office of The Chief Medical Officer. Health Promoting Health Service: Action in Secondary Care Settings

Dear Colleague. From the Office of The Chief Medical Officer. Health Promoting Health Service: Action in Secondary Care Settings Directorate of Chief Medical Officer T: 0131-244 3457 E: Nicki.Crossan@gov.scot Dear Colleague Health Promoting Health Service: Action in Secondary Care Settings NHSScotland has a key responsibility for

More information

Item No. 17. Meeting Date Wednesday 13 th June Glasgow City Integration Joint Board Finance and Audit Committee

Item No. 17. Meeting Date Wednesday 13 th June Glasgow City Integration Joint Board Finance and Audit Committee Item No. 17 Meeting Date Wednesday 13 th June 2018 Glasgow City Integration Joint Board Finance and Audit Committee Report By: Contact: Sharon Wearing, Chief Officer, Finance and Resources Allison Eccles,

More information

Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust. Operational Plan

Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust. Operational Plan Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust Operational Plan 2016-17 Contents Introducing Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Partnership NHS Trust... 3 The vision of the health and care system...

More information

Services for older people in South Lanarkshire

Services for older people in South Lanarkshire Services for older people in South Lanarkshire June 2016 Report of a joint inspection of adult health and social care services June 2016 Report of a joint inspection The Care Inspectorate is the official

More information

Staff Health, Safety and Wellbeing Strategy

Staff Health, Safety and Wellbeing Strategy Staff Health, Safety and Wellbeing Strategy 2013-16 Prepared by: Effective From: Review Date: Lead Reviewer: Hugh Currie Head of Occupational Health and Safety 31 st January 2013 01 st April 2014 Patricia

More information

2017/ /19. Summary Operational Plan

2017/ /19. Summary Operational Plan 2017/18 2018/19 Summary Operational Plan Introduction This is the summary Operational Plan for Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (CMFT) for 2017/18 2018/19. It sets out how we

More information

Cranbrook a healthy new town: health and wellbeing strategy

Cranbrook a healthy new town: health and wellbeing strategy Cranbrook a healthy new town: health and wellbeing strategy 2016 2028 Executive Summary 1 1. Introduction: why this strategy is needed, its vision and audience Neighbourhoods and communities are the building

More information

THE THREE-YEAR INTEGRATED PLAN SUMMARY

THE THREE-YEAR INTEGRATED PLAN SUMMARY THE THREE-YEAR INTEGRATED PLAN 2014-2017 SUMMARY WE ARE CWM TAF Cwm Taf University Health Board is responsible for providing healthcare services to 289,400 people living in Merthyr Tydfil and Rhondda Cynon

More information

Person Centred Health & Care Strategy

Person Centred Health & Care Strategy Person Centred Health & Care Strategy 2015 2017 What matters to you, matters to us. Review Date: 1st September 2017 Contents Page Foreword 2 Executive Summary 3 Vision 4 Introduction 5 Our Values 6 Strategic

More information

Clinical Strategy

Clinical Strategy Clinical Strategy 2012-2017 www.hacw.nhs.uk CLINICAL STRATEGY 2012-2017 Our Clinical Strategy describes how we are going to deliver high quality care in response to patient and carer feedback and commissioner

More information

Local Delivery Plan

Local Delivery Plan Local Delivery Plan 2015-16 Foreword from NHS Dumfries & Galloway Chief Executive, Jeff Ace This is NHS Dumfries & Galloway s tenth Local Delivery Plan (LDP), developed in line with Scottish Government

More information

Draft Budget Royal College of Nursing Scotland

Draft Budget Royal College of Nursing Scotland Background Draft Budget 2018-19 Royal College of Nursing Scotland At a time when budgets and resources are stretched, and ever increasing demands are being placed upon Scotland s health and social care

More information

Board Meeting. Date of Meeting: 28 September 2017 Paper No: 17/65

Board Meeting. Date of Meeting: 28 September 2017 Paper No: 17/65 Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group Board Meeting Date of Meeting: 28 September 2017 Paper No: 17/65 Title of Paper: s75 NHS Act 2006 agreement 2017-18 Paper

More information

Foreword from the Chair and Chief Executive (to be drafted) Who we are and what we do (drafted)

Foreword from the Chair and Chief Executive (to be drafted) Who we are and what we do (drafted) Appendix 1: Healthcare Improvement Scotland Draft Content for Annual Report 2010 2011 15 August 2011 Contents Foreword from the Chair and Chief Executive (to be drafted) Who we are and what we do (drafted)

More information

INTEGRATION SCHEME (BODY CORPORATE) BETWEEN WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL AND GREATER GLASGOW HEALTH BOARD

INTEGRATION SCHEME (BODY CORPORATE) BETWEEN WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL AND GREATER GLASGOW HEALTH BOARD INTEGRATION SCHEME (BODY CORPORATE) BETWEEN WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL AND GREATER GLASGOW HEALTH BOARD This integration scheme is to be used in conjunction with the Public Bodies (Joint Working) (Integration

More information

End of Life Care Strategy

End of Life Care Strategy End of Life Care Strategy 2016-2020 Foreword Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust is committed to providing the highest quality care for patients, their families and carers. Therefore, I am pleased to

More information

NHS Lothian Health Promotion Service Strategic Framework

NHS Lothian Health Promotion Service Strategic Framework NHS Lothian Health Promotion Service Strategic Framework 2015 2018 Working together to promote health and reduce inequalities so people in Lothian can reach their full health potential 1 The Health Promotion

More information

NHS GREATER GLASGOW AND CLYDE. Board Meeting 18 August 2015 Paper No: 15/ ANNUAL REVIEW: SELF ASSESSMENT AND AT A GLANCE PERFORMANCE

NHS GREATER GLASGOW AND CLYDE. Board Meeting 18 August 2015 Paper No: 15/ ANNUAL REVIEW: SELF ASSESSMENT AND AT A GLANCE PERFORMANCE NHS GREATER GLASGOW AND CLYDE Board Meeting 18 August 2015 Paper No: 15/47 Head of Performance 2014-15 ANNUAL REVIEW: SELF ASSESSMENT AND AT A GLANCE PERFORMANCE RECOMMENDATION Board members are asked

More information

Healthy Working Lives and Health Promoting Health Service

Healthy Working Lives and Health Promoting Health Service Healthy Working Lives and Health Promoting Health Service Purpose of Report The purpose of this report is to outline proposals and a framework for taking forward work around Healthy Working Lives and Health

More information

Annual Business Plan 2018/19 Summary

Annual Business Plan 2018/19 Summary Annual Business Plan 2018/19 Summary Page 1 of 8 1 Introduction The Trust Board of Directors approved our 2018/2019 Business Plan in April 2018. This document summarises the plan. For a full version, visit

More information

WAITING TIMES 1. PURPOSE

WAITING TIMES 1. PURPOSE Agenda Item Meeting of Lanarkshire NHS Board 28 April 2010 Lanarkshire NHS board 14 Beckford Street Hamilton ML3 0TA Telephone 01698 281313 Fax 01698 423134 www.nhslanarkshire.org.uk WAITING TIMES 1. PURPOSE

More information

Report to Cabinet. 19 April Day Services for Older People (Key Decision Ref. No. SMBC1621) Social Care

Report to Cabinet. 19 April Day Services for Older People (Key Decision Ref. No. SMBC1621) Social Care Agenda Item 4 Report to Cabinet 19 April 2017 Subject: Presenting Cabinet Member: Day Services for Older People (Key Decision Ref. No. SMBC1621) Social Care 1. Summary Statement 1.1 On 18 May 2016, Cabinet

More information

NHS Ayrshire and Arran Delivery, Recovery & Transformation Plan. 20 th September 2018

NHS Ayrshire and Arran Delivery, Recovery & Transformation Plan. 20 th September 2018 NHS Ayrshire and Arran Delivery, Recovery & Transformation Plan 20 th September 2018 70 years of the NHS How have we changed? Integrated approach to delivering specialist services at a regional and national

More information

A Better Deal for Hertfordshire: Hertfordshire Public Sector Action Plan

A Better Deal for Hertfordshire: Hertfordshire Public Sector Action Plan A Better Deal for Hertfordshire: Hertfordshire Public Sector Action Plan Dear Colleagues, Hertfordshire is home to around 1.2 million people. We are a prosperous county with a fantastic track record. We

More information

Changing for the Better 5 Year Strategic Plan

Changing for the Better 5 Year Strategic Plan Quality Care - for you, with you 5 Year Strategic Plan Contents: Section 1: Vision and Priorities for Change 3 Section 2: About the Trust 5 Section 3: Promoting Health & Wellbeing and Primary Care 6 Section

More information

Integrated Health and Care in Ipswich and East Suffolk and West Suffolk. Service Model Version 1.0

Integrated Health and Care in Ipswich and East Suffolk and West Suffolk. Service Model Version 1.0 Integrated Health and Care in Ipswich and East Suffolk and West Suffolk Service Model Version 1.0 This document describes an integrated health and care service model and system for Ipswich and East and

More information

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde. Workforce Plan 2015/16

NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde. Workforce Plan 2015/16 NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde Workforce Plan 2015/16 Contents 1 Section One... 5 1.1 Introduction to the Workforce Plan... 6 1.2 An overview of NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde... 8 1.3 Staff Governance...

More information

Renfrewshire CHP. Development Plan Update (Summary) 2011/12

Renfrewshire CHP. Development Plan Update (Summary) 2011/12 Renfrewshire CHP Development Plan Update (Summary) 2011/12 Renfrewshire Community Health Partnership (CHP) Development Plan 2010/13 is the key directional plan for the CHP. This plan update has been produced

More information

Highland NHS Board 5 June 2012 Item 5.1(b) A QUALITY APPROACH TO STAFF HEALTH AND WELLBEING

Highland NHS Board 5 June 2012 Item 5.1(b) A QUALITY APPROACH TO STAFF HEALTH AND WELLBEING Highland NHS Board 5 June 2012 Item 5.1(b) A QUALITY APPROACH TO STAFF HEALTH AND WELLBEING Report by Cathy Steer, Head of Health Improvement, Pamela Cremin, Workforce Planning & Development Manager, Linda

More information

21 March NHS Providers ON THE DAY BRIEFING Page 1

21 March NHS Providers ON THE DAY BRIEFING Page 1 21 March 2018 NHS Providers ON THE DAY BRIEFING Page 1 2016-17 (Revised) 2017-18 (Revised) 2018-19 2019-20 (Indicative budget) 2020-21 (Indicative budget) Total revenue budget ( m) 106,528 110,002 114,269

More information

Our five year plan to improve health and wellbeing in Portsmouth

Our five year plan to improve health and wellbeing in Portsmouth Our five year plan to improve health and wellbeing in Portsmouth Contents Page 3 Page 4 Page 5 A Message from Dr Jim Hogan Who we are What we do Page 6 Page 7 Page 10 Who we work with Why do we need a

More information

Agenda for the next Government

Agenda for the next Government Agenda for the next Government General election 2017 The Richmond Group of Charities We are the Richmond Group of Charities and we help people of all ages who have serious long term physical and mental

More information

Health Services. 5.1 Overcoming Barriers to Accessing Healthcare Services the Keep Well Pilot. Chapter

Health Services. 5.1 Overcoming Barriers to Accessing Healthcare Services the Keep Well Pilot. Chapter Chapter 5 5.1 Overcoming Barriers to Accessing Healthcare Services the Keep Well Pilot Inequalities in access to NHS services were first described by Dr Julian Tudor Hart in the 1970s. 1 He postulated

More information

NHS GRAMPIAN. Clinical Strategy

NHS GRAMPIAN. Clinical Strategy NHS GRAMPIAN Clinical Strategy Board Meeting 02/06/2016 Open Session Item 9.1 1. Actions Recommended The Board is asked to: 1. Note the progress with the engagement process for the development of the clinical

More information

Local Delivery Plan Guidance 2016/17

Local Delivery Plan Guidance 2016/17 The Scottish Government Directorate for Health Performance & Delivery Dear Colleague Local Delivery Plan Guidance 2016/17 Summary The LDP Guidance 2016-17 sets out the performance contract between the

More information

Imagine Inspire Innovate...and Integrate

Imagine Inspire Innovate...and Integrate Imagine Inspire Innovate...and Integrate Dr Anne Hendry National Clinical Lead for Integrated Care JIT is a strategic improvement partnership between the Scottish Government, NHSScotland, COSLA and the

More information

ARGYLL AND BUTE HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE PARTNERSHIP INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD BRIEFING

ARGYLL AND BUTE HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE PARTNERSHIP INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD BRIEFING ARGYLL AND BUTE HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE PARTNERSHIP People in Argyll and Bute will live longer, healthier, happier, independent lives INTEGRATION JOINT BOARD BRIEFING This briefing provides a summary of

More information

Business Plan Summary Version. Through partnerships, improve lives and the quality of care

Business Plan Summary Version. Through partnerships, improve lives and the quality of care Business Plan 2017-2018 Summary Version Through partnerships, improve lives the quality of care Introduction The Trust s Board of Directors approved our 2017/18 Business Plan in March 2017. The plan sets

More information

Chapter 3: Supporting resilience through asset-based working

Chapter 3: Supporting resilience through asset-based working Chapter 3: Supporting resilience through asset-based working In the 2007 Director of Public Health report, A call to debate, a call to action 1, it was noted that our least healthy communities are unlike

More information

Summary of HIS ihub offerings relating to public health agenda

Summary of HIS ihub offerings relating to public health agenda Summary of HIS ihub offerings relating to public health agenda 1. Aim of Paper To provide an overview of the current improvement support work led by Healthcare Improvement Scotland s ihub, that is relevant

More information

NHS Ayrshire and Arran. 1. Which of the following performance frameworks has the most influence on your budget decisions:

NHS Ayrshire and Arran. 1. Which of the following performance frameworks has the most influence on your budget decisions: A: Budget setting process Performance budgeting 1. Which of the following performance frameworks has the most influence on your budget decisions: National Performance Framework Quality Measurement Framework

More information

Short Break (Respite ) Care Practice and Procedure Guidance

Short Break (Respite ) Care Practice and Procedure Guidance Short Break (Respite ) Care Practice and Procedure Guidance 1 Contents 1. Introduction 2. Definition 2.1 Definition of a Carer 3. Legislation 3.1 Fair Access to care Services and the Duty to Provide 4.

More information

Workforce Plan 2017/18

Workforce Plan 2017/18 Workforce Plan 2017/18 Contents 1 Section One... 4 1.1 Introduction to the Workforce Plan... 5 1.2 How will NHSGGC support the delivery of Better Care... 6 1.3 How will NHSGGC support the delivery of Better

More information

Integrated care system

Integrated care system Welcome to Heywood, Middleton, Rochdale Care organisation and integrated care system 28 th November 2017 Zeph Curwen, Urgent Care/Intermediate Tier Manager, Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust Steven Blezard,

More information

Corporate Plan

Corporate Plan Corporate Plan 2011 2015 Contents Foreword 2 Vision 3 Our Purpose 4 Our Core Values 5 Planning Context 6 Political and Financial Demand and Population Public Engagement Key Themes 9 Safety, Quality and

More information

PRIMARY CARE COMMISSIONING COMMITTEE Meeting held in Public. 3 rd July 2018

PRIMARY CARE COMMISSIONING COMMITTEE Meeting held in Public. 3 rd July 2018 PRIMARY CARE COMMISSIONING COMMITTEE Meeting held in Public 3 rd July 2018 Title of report Purpose of the report and key highlights Resetting New Models of Care in Trafford This briefing paper sets out

More information

CHILDREN & YOUNG PEOPLE S HEALTH OUTCOME FORUM:

CHILDREN & YOUNG PEOPLE S HEALTH OUTCOME FORUM: CHILDREN & YOUNG PEOPLE S HEALTH OUTCOME FORUM: How will this impact on disabled children? Christine Lenehan Director Council for Disabled Children Co-Chair Children and Young People s Health Outcomes

More information

PATIENT EXPERIENCE AND INVOLVEMENT STRATEGY

PATIENT EXPERIENCE AND INVOLVEMENT STRATEGY Affiliated Teaching Hospital PATIENT EXPERIENCE AND INVOLVEMENT STRATEGY 2015 2018 Building on our We Will Together and I Will campaigns FOREWORD Patient Experience is the responsibility of everyone at

More information

Adult Social Care Assessment & care management In-house care services

Adult Social Care Assessment & care management In-house care services Adult Social Care Assessment & care management In-house care services Service Plan 2015/16 Date 19/03/15 Final Directorate: Education Health and Social Care 1. Introduction Policy Context The Adult Social

More information

Shetland NHS Board. Board Paper 2017/28

Shetland NHS Board. Board Paper 2017/28 Board Paper 2017/28 Shetland NHS Board Meeting: Paper Title: Shetland NHS Board Capacity and resilience planning - managing safe and effective care across hospital and community services Date: 11 th June

More information

North West London Sustainability and Transformation Plan Summary

North West London Sustainability and Transformation Plan Summary North West London Sustainability and Transformation Plan Summary Being well, living well: a sustainability and transformation plan for North West London November 2016 Have your say We want to hear your

More information

Provide a further update on NHSGGC readiness for commencement of the Carers Act on the 1st of April 2018.

Provide a further update on NHSGGC readiness for commencement of the Carers Act on the 1st of April 2018. NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS BOARD MEETING Nurse Director 20 th February 2018 Paper No: 18/07 Update on Preparation for Carers Act Commencement Recommendation:- The Board is asked to: Note the significant

More information

Guideline scope Intermediate care - including reablement

Guideline scope Intermediate care - including reablement NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR HEALTH AND CARE EXCELLENCE Guideline scope Intermediate care - including reablement Topic The Department of Health in England has asked NICE to produce a guideline on intermediate

More information

STP Joint Commissioning Intentions Statement

STP Joint Commissioning Intentions Statement STP Joint Commissioning Intentions Statement Commissioners and Providers across Hampshire and the Isle of Wight (HIOW) have been working collectively to develop a Sustainability and Transformation Plan

More information

Quality Accounts: Corroborative Statements from Commissioning Groups. Nottingham NHS Treatment Centre - Corroborative Statement

Quality Accounts: Corroborative Statements from Commissioning Groups. Nottingham NHS Treatment Centre - Corroborative Statement Quality Accounts: Corroborative Statements from Commissioning Groups Quality Accounts are annual reports to the public from providers of NHS healthcare about the quality of services they deliver. The primary

More information

Report on care homes in Nottingham North & East, Nottingham West and Rushcliffe CCGs 2013/14

Report on care homes in Nottingham North & East, Nottingham West and Rushcliffe CCGs 2013/14 GB 14/040 Report on care homes in Nottingham North & East, Nottingham West and Rushcliffe CCGs 2013/14 Introduction This report gives an overview of the key risks and opportunities in relation to contract

More information

National Health and Social Care Workforce Plan. Part 2 a framework for improving workforce planning for social care in Scotland

National Health and Social Care Workforce Plan. Part 2 a framework for improving workforce planning for social care in Scotland National Health and Social Care Workforce Plan Part 2 a framework for improving workforce planning for social care in Scotland December 2017 CONTENTS Joint COSLA/ Ministerial Foreword 1. Executive summary

More information

Beyond Patient Care to Population Health. Strategic Plan

Beyond Patient Care to Population Health. Strategic Plan Beyond Patient Care to Population Health Strategic Plan 2017-2022 Contents Chapter 1 Context and Vision for the Future 04 Context 04 Our Vision 04 Our Aims 05 Strategic Alignment 05 Chapter 2 Where are

More information

Our Achievements. CQC Inspection 2016

Our Achievements. CQC Inspection 2016 Our Achievements CQC Inspection 2016 Issued February 2017 HOW FAR WE VE COME SAFE Last year, we set out our achievements in a document for staff and patients. It was extremely well received, and as a result,

More information